My autistic son’s battle Part 2:

Our wee man has the most gorgeous eyes,from a young baby he got commented on them no matter where I took him,they were quite sleepy looking eyes,almost that sleepy looking that he constantly looked tired,they were “melt your heart eyes” (biased I know but I’m being wholeheartedly honest) I remember taking him for his mmr jabs and the receptionist at our local gp’s said “oh he looks so sleepy the wee darling, and I was just smiling thinking “here we go again” so to speak (I’d heard it that often) It was his younger sisters christening day and we had arranged to meet up with family and friends for a meal to celebrate her “big day”,but just minutes before we were heading to the chapel my we man took a tumble and hit his head on the tv unit (this happened several times a day) like I stated on my last page of part 1,I had to constantly sign forms from the crèche about nasty falls. His head was cut quite badly,it was bleeding a lot,and we had all our family waiting at the chapel on our arrival,it was a stressful moment for me needless to say, we cleaned him up and put a Minnie Mouse plaster on his forehead to the left corner near his hairline (yes,a Minnie Mouse plaster) it was all I could find at the time,when you have those “if it doesn’t rain it pours moments” then its typical that Minnie Mouse plaster covers were all I could see. From that day on I decided to take action into my own hands and get his eyes checked,and what do you know?? My wee man had extremely poor eyesight,so poor that technically speaking he could hardly see,his prescription was 8,where the average person had a reading of 3 being on the normal scale. This broke my heart,all the times his wee head was down and his “puppy dog” like eyes staring at anything his sight could catch,he actually couldn’t see that well at all. Straight on the ball our wee “superhero” had glasses and he was on the road to probably seeing the world from a much clearer view, so refraction clinics and opticians were a place (and still) he became very familiar with. Fast forward to his diagnosis 3 years later…..now we start to build our lives from here on in…and like before I stated,we attended speech therapy,who made a significant change to him in his speech,his words became clearer,sentences were made by himself,and he loved his voice that much that he kept going and going and going,and what do you know?? With all the help from his crèche,teachers,his speech therapy sessions and off course a lot of reinforcement at home he became quite a little chatter box. And NOW we have to ask him to be quiet.ha..he’s now a “professional” talker..and how he can articulate his words is simply amazing. He couldn’t write his name when he was in primary one (or in his case rang 1,Irish) at the end of that term which was June 2015. I became so low in myself because no matter how hard I tried and how much time I spent on him trying to help and enable him to try and hold a pencil correctly it just got me nowhere,he’s left handed so nothing was in his favour. Occupational therapy sessions really enforced his writing skills and paper cutting with scissors,it became less of a chore and more of a hobby for him,he was really enjoying his time at “finding him”,and every time after his sessions before I’d return to school with him I took him for his favourite treat every time….a subway sandwich…this is what he looked forward to,he always thinks with his belly,what male doesn’t? 😁 So now today where we now currently stand my wee man can write not only his full name,but sentences too,he can count to 100 both in English and Irish,and he can speak certain words in English (as for the first 3 years of Irish medium school,it’s only Irish that’s learned and English being introduced in year 4) he can also add and subtract really well too,his reading has went from a scale of 0-10 in just under a year. I can’t emphasise enough,how just a few short years ago I’d be sitting not only writing my blog but the detail that’s went into it also..reading now what I’ve wrote would of been unimaginable at the time of his diagnosis..I thought he would never be able to do the things that he’s doing now in this short space of time,time really is a healer and he’s proof of that. A few years ago I was so negative about things,the only outlook I had in life was dull and gloomy for his possible outcome,now today I’m really positive,that positive in fact that I think he will grow out of this nearly. Yes he’s going to have autism forever,and yes his traits will still follow him but as long as I’m alive and well I’ll continue to be his mountain to lean on and help him so much that he will no longer need me as a mountain to lean on,he can walk freely to the top all by himself. After all you know what they say “faith can move mountains” and so far our “superhero” is proof of that.🌟


4 thoughts on “My autistic son’s battle Part 2:

  1. I love this! I am always amazed when I look back on our journey how far we have come. From a time when I thought his limitations were never going to change, to where we are now. Such a blessing!! I love reading how you are seeing the same things. I love reading about your “superhero” 🙂 He sounds amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

